Please read our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use this website you accept that we use Cookies.











Search again


About Greenwich Exchange

Forthcoming Titles


Contact Us



Share this book on Twitter



Join Greenwich Exchange on Facebook
















Summer Nineteen Forty-Five

John Lucas




FREE postage within the United Kingdom

Overseas customers need to select the correct shipping/postage option below:


 Price including shipping/postage






The setting of Summer Nineteen Forty-Five is a small, seemingly tranquil village in the English midlands at the end of the second-world war. But the village’s calm is about to be disrupted by the unexplained death of a girl evacuee from London, and this sets in motion a series of events leading to further, catastrophic death. Only years later are the mysteries of these deaths unravelled.


About the author:

The author of many books, John Lucas is an award-winning writer of verse and prose. Studying Grosz on the Bus won the Aldeburgh Poetry Prize in 1990 and 92 Acharnon Street, his account of a year spent living in Athens, was awarded the 2008 Dolman Award for Travel Writing. More recent books include Next Year Will Be Better: A Memoir of England in the 1950s (2011), a Book of the Year for both The Guardian and The Times Literary Supplement, the novel, Waterdrops, and, with Allan Chatburn, A Brief History of Whistling.


206  pages

ISBN: 978-1-910996-12-6

Greenwich Exchange Category: Novels

Series: None



Other books by John Lucas published by Greenwich Exchange:

Portable Property

George Crabbe: A Critical Study

Robert Browning

Shakespeare's Second Tetralogy: Richard II - Henry V

Shakespeare's The Winter's Tale

The Plotting


The Good That We Do

Second World War Poetry in English